The future of Ottawa County was impacted by the August 2, 2022 primary election when voters turned out and overwhelmingly voted to replace incumbent Republican county commissioners with new leaders for liberty vetted by Ottawa Impact PAC.

The vetted candidates championed individual freedoms, parental rights, and American values and received overwhelming support from the citizens who wanted to preserve and protect the heritage of Ottawa County.

Incumbent county commissioners refused to listen and act in defense of the people— especially in face of government overreach by the health department. When elected officials refuse to listen to the people and protect constitutional freedoms, they must be replaced.

The people of Ottawa County worked tirelessly towards that goal and overwhelmingly voted to replace the individuals who ignored their freedoms, their parental rights, and their values.

Ottawa Impact-Aligned County Commissioner Candidates – Republican Primary 2022

District Candidate Status
District 1 Gretchen Cosby Democrat opponent in November 2022
District 2 Lucy Ebel Democrat opponent in November 2022
District 3
District 4 Jacob Bonnema Seated January 2023
District 5 Joe Moss Seated January 2023
District 6 Kyle Terpstra Seated January 2023
District 7 Rebekah Curran Seated January 2023
District 8 Sylvia Rhodea Seated January 2023
District 9 Roger Belknap Seated January 2023
District 10 Jenni Shepherd-Kelley See below
District 11 Allison Miedema Seated January 2023

Jenni Shepherd-Kelley lost by 618 votes in District 10 in a heavy crossover area to progressive incumbent candidate Roger Bergman. Ottawa Impact PAC issued a statement that included: “Jenni fought a valiant race in District 10 and worked to inform and activate her community in the Tri-Cities area. We have tremendous respect for her passion and conviction to defend her district.”

Ottawa Impact Education PAC has announced plans to find, vet, and support candidates for local school board elections for the November 2022 general election.